2018 Award Winners & Annual Dinner Information

The Frank M. Gaines, MD, Award is given in memory of a Louisville psychiatrist instrumental in the work of several nonprofit mental health agencies, including MHA Kentucky, to recognize the significant contributions of an active or retired professional to the care and treatment of people with mental illnesses.
This year’s recipient is……. 
Benita Utz, RN, MSN of St. Elizabeth Hospital

The Jack B. Stith Award recognizes an individual with an outstanding record of volunteer advocacy for persons with serious mental illnesses.
This year’s recipient is……. 
Jessica Best, MSW, LCSW
for her work with the Suicide Prevention Coalition of Kentucky

The Philip P. Ardery Award honors a program or organization that provides a significant service to the local or statewide community regarding the promotion of mental health or the prevention of mental illness.
This year’s recipient is……. 
CSU Residential Facility at River Valley Behavioral Health

The Clifford W. Beers Award honors a consumer of mental health services who emulates the work of Clifford W. Beers, a consumer who founded Mental Health America, to improve conditions for and attitudes toward people with mental illnesses.
This year’s recipient is……. 
Randall “Rock” Blackburn, APSS 

The President’s Award honors a program or individual deserving of special attention outside the scope of our other awards. This year, we honorBridgehaven Mental Health Services as they celebrate 60 years of service.

The Youth Voice Award honors an individual under the age of 18 who has engaged in mental health advocacy within the past year. This year’s recipient of that award is Allison Tu, Executive Director of Stamina.

The Antoinette C. Hodes Academic Scholarship is given to a student who is enrolled in a Kentucky college or university, has performed volunteer service in a mental health setting, and is preparing for a career in the mental health field. The late Ms. Hodes was a Kentucky philanthropist.
Kristen Miller, Western Kentucky University is this year’s recipient

The Evan and Katherine Harrod Academic Scholarship was established in memory of the parents of late board member Evan “Pete” Harrod and is given to a student who qualifies for a Hodes scholarship and is from a rural area. Mr. Harrod was a long-standing member of the board of directors of MHA-Kentucky who lived and farmed in Henry County.
Heather Lamarr, Lindsey Wilson College is this year’s recipient.


Tickets to this event remain available online at: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/mha-kentucky-annual-dinner-tickets-49137564779